The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Commerce: United States

United States Department of Commerce

The mission of the Department of Commerce is to promote domestic and foreign trade and to foster, serve, and promote the nation's economic development and technological advancement.

The Department of Commerce and Labor was created by act of Congress on February 14, 1903. On March 4, 1913, this department was split into two separate cabinet-level agencies, the Department of Commerce and the Department of Labor.

The official website of the Department of Commerce is


Office of the Secretary
Secretary of Commerce
Deputy Secretary of Commerce
Chief of Staff
Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy
Assistant Secretary for Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs
Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Secretary for Administration
Chief Information Officer
General Counsel
Inspector General
Office of Business Liaison
Office of Policy and Strategic Planning
Office of Public Affairs
Office of White House Liaison
International IPR Enforcement Coordinator

Bureau of Industry and Security
Under Secretary for Industry and Security
Deputy Under Secretary for Industry and Security
Assistant Secretary for Export Administration
Assistant Secretary for Export Enforcement

Economics and Statistics Administration
Under Secretary for Economic Affairs
Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs
Bureau of the Census
Bureau of Economic Analysis

Economic Development Administration
Assistant Secretary for Economic Development

International Trade Administration
Under Secretary for International Trade
Deputy Under Secretary for International Trade
Assistant Secretary for Market Access and Compliance
Assistant Secretary for Import Administration
Assistant Secretary for Trade Promotion and Director General for the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service
Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing Services

Minority Business Development Agency
National Director

National Institute of Standards and Technology
Deputy Director

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
Under Secretary and Administrator for NOAA
Deputy Under Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere
Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere

National Technical Information Service

National Telecommunications and Information Administration
Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information

Patent and Trademark Office
Under Secretary for Intellectual Property and Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

Secretaries of Commerce and Labor
Secretary Dates of Service President(s)
George B. Cortelyou Feb 18, 1903-June 30, 1904 Roosevelt
Victor H. Metcalf July 1, 1904-Dec 16, 1906 Roosevelt
Oscar S. Straus Dec 17, 1906-Mar 5, 1909 Roosevelt
Charles Nagel Mar 6, 1909-Mar 4, 1913 Taft
Secretaries of Commerce
William C. Redfield Mar 5, 1913-Oct 31, 1919 Wilson
Joshua W. Alexander Dec 16, 1919-Mar 4, 1921 Wilson
Herbert C. Hoover Mar 5, 1921-Aug 21, 1928 Harding and Coolidge
William F. Whiting Aug 22, 1928-Mar 4, 1929 Coolidge
Robert P. Lamont Mar 5, 1929-Aug 7, 1932 Hoover
Roy D. Chapin Aug 8, 1932-Mar 3, 1933 Hoover
Daniel C. Roper Mar 4, 1933-Dec 23, 1938 Roosevelt
Harry L. Hopkins Dec 24, 1938-Sep 18, 1940 Roosevelt
Jesse H. Jones Sep 19, 1940-Mar 1, 1945 Roosevelt
Henry A. Wallace Mar 2, 1945-Sep 20, 1946 Roosevelt and Truman
W. Averell Harriman Oct 7, 1946-Apr 22, 1948 Truman
Charles Sawyer May 6, 1948-Jan 20, 1953 Truman
Sinclair Weeks Jan 21, 1953-Nov 10, 1958 Eisenhower
Lewis L. Strauss Nov 13, 1958-June 30, 1959 Eisenhower
Frederick H. Mueller Aug 10, 1959-Jan 19, 1961 Eisenhower
Luther H. Hodges Jan 21, 1961-Jan 15, 1965 Kennedy and Johnson
John T. Connor Jan 18, 1965-Jan 31, 1967 Johnson
Alexander B. Trowbridge June 14, 1967-Mar 1, 1968 Johnson
C.R. Smith Mar 6, 1968-Jan 19, 1969 Johnson
Maurice H. Stans Jan 21, 1969-Feb 15, 1972 Nixon
Peter G. Peterson Feb 29, 1972-Feb 1, 1973 Nixon
Frederick B. Dent Feb 2, 1973-Mar 26, 1975 Nixon and Ford
Rogers C.B. Morton May 1, 1975-Feb 2, 1976 Ford
Eliot L. Richardson Feb 2, 1976-Jan 20, 1977 Ford
Juanita M. Kreps Jan 23, 1977-Oct 31, 1979 Carter
Philip M. Klutznick Jan 9, 1980-Jan 19, 1981 Carter
Malcolm Baldrige Jan 20, 1981-July 25, 1987 Reagan
C. William Verity Oct 19, 1987-Jan 30, 1989 Reagan
Robert A. Mosbacher Jan 31, 1989-Jan 15, 1992 Bush
Barbara H. Franklin Feb 27, 1992-Jan 20, 1993 Bush
Ronald H. Brown Jan 22, 1993-Apr 3, 1996 Clinton
Mickey Kantor Apr 12, 1996-Jan 21, 1997 Clinton
William M. Daley Jan 30, 1997-July 19, 2000 Clinton
Norman A. Mineta July 21, 2000-Jan 19, 2001 Clinton
Donald L. Evans Jan 20, 2001-Feb 3, 2005 Bush
Carlos M. Gutierrez Feb 7, 2005-Jan 20, 2009 Bush
Otto J. Wolff Jan 20, 2009-Mar 26, 2009 Obama
Gary Locke Mar 26, 2009-Aug 1, 2011 Obama
John E. Brysson Oct 21, 2011-June 11, 2012 Obama
Rebecca M. Blank June 11, 2012-June 1, 2013 Obama
Cameron Kerry June 1, 2013-June 26, 2013 Obama
Penny Pritzer June 26, 2013-January 20, 2017 Obama
Wilbur Ross February 28, 2017- Trump

The longest-serving Secretary of Commerce was Herbert Hoover, who served almost seven and a half years.

The first woman, and the only economist, to serve as Secretary of Commerce was Juanita Kreps.

The first African-American to serve as Secretary of Commerce was Ronald Brown.

The youngest person to be named Secretary of Commerce was 38-year-old Alexander Trowbridge.

The oldest to be appointed was Philip Klutznick, who was 72 when he took office.

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Commerce: United States

This page was last updated on December 09, 2018.