The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Yugoslavia >> General History
The Socialist and Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

Socijalisticka Federativna Jugoslavija

Facts and Figures

Bordered By Italy, Austria, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Albania

Area 98,766 sq mi
Greatest Distance E-W 475 mi
Greatest Distance N-S 415 mi
Coastline 490 mi
Highest Point Mount Triglav; 9,393 ft
Lowest Point sea level

Population (at time of dissolution) 23,724,919
Largest Cities Belgrade, Zagreb, Skopje, Sarajevo, Ljubljana, Split, Nova Sad, Rijeka

Capital Belgrade
Form of Government socialist republic

National Anthem Hej Sloveni ("Hey Slavs")
Flag horizontal stripes of blue, white, and red, with a red star in the middle
Coat of Arms there is one torch for each of the nation's six republics; the date marks the start of Communist rule

flag of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

coat of arms of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

Timeline of Important Events

December 1, 1918 The Kingdom of the Serbes, Croats, and Slovenes was formed, uniting for the first time the region that became Yugoslavia.
1921 A new constitution, providing for a constitutional monarchy, was adopted.
1929 King Alexander I changed the name of the country to Yugoslavia and began to rule as a dictator.
1934 Croatian terrorists assassinated Alexander I.

1941 The Yugoslavian army overthrew the pro-German government. Germany and other Axis powers invaded Yugoslavia. Josip Broz Tito organized the Partisans, a resistance army.
1944 Aided by Soviet troops, the Partisans freed Belgrade from German occupation.
November 29, 1945 The country's name was changed to the Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia.
1946 A new constitution established six constituent republics: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Slovenia.
1947 Italy ceded most of Venezia Giulia to Yugoslavia.
1948 The Soviet Union broke off relations with Yugoslavia.
1953 Marshal Tito was chosen as President of Yugoslavia.
1963 The country was renamed the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and Tito was named President for Life.
May 4, 1980 President Josip Broz Tito died.
1984 Sarajevo hosted the Winter Olympics.

1991 Croatia and Slovenia declared their independence from Yugoslavia. Slovenia was invaded by Yugoslav troops, tanks, and aircraft, starting the Ten-Day War.
1992 The international community recognized the independence of Slovenia and Croatia. Bosnia and Herzegovina declared its independence from Yugoslavia.

See Also

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Yugoslavia >> General History

This page was last updated on January 06, 2019.