The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Wyoming
Important Dates in Wyoming

Historic Wyoming

1807 John Colter explored the Yellowstone area.
1812 Robert Stuart discovered South Pass across the Rocky Mountains.
1833 Captain Benjamin L. E. de Bonneville mapped the Wyoming area and discovered oil east of the Wind River Mountains.
1834 William Sublette and Robert Campbell estblished Fort William (later Fort Laramie).
1843 Scout Jim Bridger established Fort Bridger.
1867 The Union Pacific Railroad entered Wyoming.
1868 Congress created the Territory of Wyoming.
1869 The Wyoming Territorial Legislature gave women the right to vote and hold elective office.
1872 Yellowstone became the first national park.
1883 Wyoming's first oil well was drilled in the Dallas Field, near Lander.

July 10, 1890 Wyoming became the 44th state.

1892 The Johnson County Range War broke out after a dispute over cattle rustling.

1906 President Theodore Roosevelt made Devils Tower the first national monument.
1925 Nellie Tayloe Ross became the first woman Governor in the United States.

1951-1952 Major uranium deposits were found in several parts of the state.
1960 The United States' first operational intercontinental ballistic base opened near Cheyenne.

See Also

Yellowstone National Park
President Theodore Roosevelt
Nellie Tayloe Ross

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Wyoming

This page was last updated on December 29, 2018.