The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> United States >> 1865-1900 >> Biography, A-Z
Edmund G. Ross

U.S. Senator who prevented the impeachment of Andrew Johnson

Edmund G. Ross

Edmund Gibson Ross was born in Ashland, Ohio, on December 7, 1826, and grew up in Sandusky. After finishing his basic education, he was apprenticed to a printer in Sandusky and worked in various capacities in newspapers until moving to Milwaukee in 1849 and becoming editor of the Milwaukee Sentinel.

In 1856, after the sacking of Lawrence, Kansas, by pro-slavery forces, Ross led a group of armed free-staters to Topeka, where they successfully drove out pro-slavery forces. He subsequently published the Topeka Tribune from 1856 to 1858; established the Kansas State Record in 1859, served as a delegate to the State Constitutional Convention of 1859-1861, and was a promoter and director of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway. In 1862, he helped raise the Eleventh Kansas Infantry and was elected its Captain; he was promoted to Major when the regiment was changed to Cavalry. He edited the Kansas Tribune from 1865 to 1866.

In 1866, Ross was appointed to fill the U. S. Senate seat vacated by the suicide of James H. Lane; he was subsequently elected in his own right, and served from July 19, 1866 to March 3, 1871. While in the Senate, Ross served as chairman of the Committee on Enrolled Bills and the Committee on Engrossed Bills. He is best known, however, for casting the deciding vote against the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson in 1868, an action which put him at odds with the rest of the Republican Party. After losing his bid for another term, Ross left the Republican Party and joined the Democrats. After leaving the Senate, Ross published a series of newspapers, between 1871 and 1893. He was an unsuccessful Democratic candidate for Governor of Kansas in 1880.

Ross moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico, in 1882, and resumed his newspaper career. He was appointed Governor of the Territory of New Mexico by President Grover Cleveland in 1885, in which capacity he served four years. He died in Albuquerque on May 8, 1907.

See Also

Wyandotte Constitution
James H. Lane
President Andrew Johnson
President Grover Cleveland

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> United States >> 1865-1900 >> Biography, A-Z

This page was last updated on December 06, 2018.