The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> Andrew Jackson's Administration
An Overview of Andrew Jackson's Administration

Andrew Jackson won election as President because of the growing political power of new states on the frontier. He had the support of farmers and working people, thousands of whom attended his inauguration. Believing that the President should use his constitutional powers to the fullest limit, Jackson vetoed more bills than all the Presidents before him combined. He stood ready to argue with Congress or the Supreme Court in the name of all the people. His slogan was: "Let the people rule."

The 20-year period after Jackson became President is often called the Age of Jackson and has been described as the years of "the rise of the common man."

Andrew Jackson on the South Portico of the White House
Andrew Jackson on the South Portico of the White House 1836

Election of 1828

Andrew Jackson
John Quincy Adams

Popular Vote
Electoral Vote
Election of 1832
Andrew Jackson
Henry Clay
Vice-Presidents and Cabinet
Vice-President John C. Calhoun
Martin Van Buren (1833)
Secretary of State Martin Van Buren
Edward Livingston (1831)
Louis McLane (1833)
John Forsyth (1834)
Secretary of the Treasury Samuel D. Ingham
Louis McLane (1831)
William J. Duane (1833)
Roger B. Taney (1833)
Levi Woodbury (1834)
Secretary of War John H. Eaton
Lewis Cass (1831)
Attorney General John M. Berrien
Roger B. Taney (1831)
Benjamin F. Butler (1833)
Postmaster General John McLean
William T. Barry (1829)
Amos Kendall (1835)
Secretary of the Navy John Branch
Levi Woodbury (1831)
Mahlon Dickerson (1834)
United States Events During His Administration
States Admitted Arkansas (1836), Michigan (1837)
Territories Organized Wisconsin (1836)
U.S. Population in 1837 15,900,000
1829 The Postmaster General became a member of the Cabinet.
1830 Senators Daniel Webster and Robert Hayne debated states' rights.
1831 William Lloyd Garrison began publishing his antislavery newspaper, The Liberator.
1831 Cyrus McCormick invented the reaping machine.
1832 Jackson vetoed a bill to renew the charter of the Bank of the United States.
1832 Illinois settlers defeated the Sauk and Fox Indians in the Black Hawk War.
1832 South Carolina declared the federal tariff laws null and void. Jackson then sent U.S. troops to the state.
1832 John C. Calhoun resigned as Vice-President.
1832 The Democratic Party met in Baltimore for its first national convention.
1833 Jackson removed government funds from the Bank of the United States.
1833 The Treaty with Siam became the first pact between the United States and an Asian nation.
1833 The New York Sun, the first successful penny newspaper, was founded by Benjamin Day.
1834 The Senate rejected a Cabinet nominee for the first time -- Roger B. Taney as Secretary of the Treasury.
1834, March 28 The Senate censured Jackson for taking federal deposits from the Bank of the United States.
1835 U.S. troops forced the Seminole Indians to retreat to the Florida Everglades.
1836 Texas declared its independence from Mexico.
1836 Jackson's Specie Circular required payment in gold or silver for public lands.
1836 Samuel Colt began manufacturing the Colt revolver.
1836 Alonzo D. Phillips patented the first phosphorous matches in the United States.
World Events During His Administration
1820 Louis Philippe seized the French throne.
1830 Great Columbia was divided into Ecuador, Venezuela, and New Granada (now Colombia).
1831 Michael Faraday discovered the principle of electromagnetic induction.
1833 Slavery was outlawed in all British colonies.

Trivia and Notes

On June 6, 1833, President Andrew Jackson became the first sitting President to ride in a railroad train.

Andrew Jackson was the first, and to date only, President to end his term with a balanced federal budget.


The American President
Presidents of the United States
The White House

See Also

John Quincy Adams
Henry Clay
Martin Van Buren
William T. Barry
Daniel Webster
Cyrus McCormick
South Carolina
Samuel Colt
Louis Philippe
Michael Faraday

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> Andrew Jackson's Administration

This page was last updated on December 22, 2018.