The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> James Monroe's Administration
An Overview of James Monroe's Administration

As President, James Monroe presided quietly during a period known as "the era of good feeling." The frontier was moving rapidly westward, and small cities sprang up west of the Mississippi River. Monroe sent General Andrew Jackson on a military expedition into Florida which resulted in the purchase of Florida from Spain. Rapidly extending frontiers soon caused Americans to consider whether slavery should be permitted in the new territories. The Missouri Compromise "settled" this problem for nearly 30 years by setting definite limits to the extension of slavery in land lying within the Louisiana Purchase area.

official White House portrait

His Vice-President and Cabinet
Vice-President Daniel D. Tompkins
Secretary of State John Quincy Adams
Secretary of the Treasury William H. Crawford
Secretary of War John C. Calhoun
Attorney General William Wirt (1817)
Secretary of the Navy Benjamin W. Crowninshield
Smith Thompson (1819)
Samuel L. Southard (1823)
Domestic Events During His Administration
U.S. Population was 11,300,000 in 1825
States Admitted to Union:
Mississippi (1817), Illinois (1818), Alabama (1819), Maine (1820), Missouri (1821)
1817 The Rush-Bagot Agreement, signed with Great Britain, prohibited fortifications on the Great Lakes.
1818 Great Britain agreed to the 49th parallel as the boundary between the United States and Canada from Lake of the Woods on the Minnesota-Ontario border as far west as the Rocky Mountains.
1818 The White House was reopened after years of rebuilding following the War of 1812.
1819 Florida was purchased from Spain.
1820 The Missouri Compromise temporarily ended the debate over extending slavery into new territories.
1821 The Santa Fe Trail was blazed by William Becknell.
1821 The first public high school in the United States opened its doors in Boston, Massachusetts.
1823 The Monroe Doctrine, guaranteeing independence of the Americas against any European influence, was proclaimed before Congress.
World Events During His Administration
1819 Simon Bolivar became the first President of Colombia.
1819 The Savannah became the first steamship to cross the Atlantic.
1821 Central American republics separated from Spain.
1821 Napoleon Bonaparte died.
1822 Brazil became independent of Portugal.
1822 Greece became independent of Ottoman Empire.
1824 Mexico became a republic.

See Also

Andrew Jackson
Missouri Compromise
Louisiana Purchase
Daniel D. Tompkins
John Quincy Adams
Secretary of the Treasury
William H. Crawford
John C. Calhoun
War of 1812
Adams-Onis Treaty
Simon Bolivar
Napoleon Bonaparte

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> James Monroe's Administration

This page was last updated on August 30, 2018.