The Robinson Library

The Robinson Library >> James Madison's Administration, 1809-1817
The War of 1812: Chronology of Major Events

map showing sites of major battles

June 18, 1812 The United States declared war on Great Britain.
October 13, 1812 British forces won the Battle of Queenston Heights in Canada.
January 22, 1813 An American army advancing toward Detroit was defeated and captured at Frenchtown on the Raisin River.
April 27, 1813 American forcess captured York (now Toronto), the capital of Upper Canada. They later burned some public buildings.
September 10, 1813 American naval forces under Master-Commandant Oliver Hazard Perry won the Battle of Lake Erie.
October 5, 1813 American forces under General William Henry Harrison won the Battle of the Thames River in Moraviantown, an Indian village in Canada.
December 1814 British forces crossed the Niagara River, captured Fort Niagara, and burned Buffalo and neighboring villages.
July 25, 1814 American forces under Major General Jacob Brown and Brigadier General Winfield Scott crossed the Niagara River from Buffalo and defeated the British at the Battle of Chippewa.
August 24, 1814 British troops invaded Washington, D.C., and burned the Capitol and the White House.
September 11, 1814 American naval forces defeated a British fleet in the Battle of Lake Champlain.
December 24, 1814 The Americans and the British signed a peace treaty in Ghent, Belgium.
January 8, 1815 American forces under General Andrew Jackson won the Battle of New Orleans.

See Also

Declaration of War
Oliver Hazard Perry
William Henry Harrison
Winfield Scott
Treaty of Ghent
Andrew Jackson

Questions or comments about this page?

The Robinson Library >> James Madison's Administration, 1809-1817

This page was last updated on December 21, 2018.